Music Videos

Home Sweet Home


Legendary Gospel composer Albert E. Brumley wrote:

“This world is not my home, I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue;
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.”

Indeed, this is the hope that believers live in. The Earth is not our home – Heaven is. The Earth can be seen as many things. Hebrews 13:14 says “For this world is not our home; we are looking forward to our city in heaven, which is yet to come.” (NLT).

Hebrews 11: 13-16 (NIV) says:
“… admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth. 14 People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. 15 If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. 16 Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.”

We are not of the world, just like Jesus isn’t a part of this world (John 17: 16). [Also see Philippians 3: 20, 21]. Everyone will agree to a statement like: “There’s no place like home. Home sweet Home” The City Harmonic says it best, in their song “I Have a Dream (Feels Like Home). I can promise you, this song will give you goose bumps. Home – a place where Love is True, but in this love, He finds you. It’s a place where everything is alright. It is a beautiful place – a symphony of Peace, where we will be together as brothers and sisters – free at last. This song will make you long for home. 5 stars.

This world is not where we belong. We are merely “aliens” and sojourners on a foreign land. We have been planted here on Earth for many a reason. It is a test of our Faith, before we enter our heavenly home. Or, you could see it as a short vacation away from home. But one thing’s for certain: “All I know is I’m not home yet, This is not where I belong. Take this world, and give me Jesus, This is not where I belong.”

Where I Belong >> Building 429

MercyMe is one band that writes a lot about going back home. Can you imagine it? It’s the most beautiful place you can think of – in fact, far beyond your imagination! The 21st chapter of Revelation clearly describes Heaven as we may see it. Imagine: Walls made of Jasper, a city of pure gold, all kinds of precious stones, there will be no sun or moon because Jesus would be the lamp shining at all times; there will be nothing impure, shameful or deceitful. It is a beautiful place where there will be no more crying or sorrow, and ultimate peace. Most importantly, we will be reunited with our Savior, the master and sole love of our lives. There could exist nothing greater than that moment. All the angels and heavenly beings will be constantly declaring God’s praise, and we would spend eternity with our Savior – every single moment – in praise, adoration and worship.

Imagine that moment when we will get to meet our Savior. It’s indescribable – the feelings that will run through us. What will your reaction be? What will my heart feel? Will I dance for You, Jesus? Or in awe of You be still? Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I fall? Will I sing Hallelujah? Will I be able to speak at all? I can only imagine…

I Can Only Imagine >> MercyMe

Doesn’t that already make you long to go home, away from this place of sin, shame guilt and all the carnal things of the world? Have you ever wondered what you would do when you reached home finally? Perhaps MercyMe’s ‘Finally Home’ is a close enough description…

Finally Home >> MercyMe

I’m gonna wrap my arms around my daddy’s neck and tell Him that I’ve missed Him; And tell Him all about the man that I became and hope that it pleased Him; There’s so much I want to say, so much I want you to know…
When I finally make it home…
Then I’ll gaze upon the throne of the King, frozen in my steps; All the questions that I swore I would ask, words just won’t come yet; So amazed at what I’ve seen so much more than this old mind can hold…
When I finally make it home…
And the sweetest sound my ears have yet to hear voices of the angels…
When I finally make it home…

All this talk about ‘Home’ kinda makes one ‘Homesick’…

Homesick >> MercyMe


[This YouTube video has been uploaded by user ‘Darwin Bonilla’]

However, the first step we took Homeward, was when we accepted Christ in our hearts. That’s the greatest decision one can ever take as a turning point toward home.
Everybody hopes that maybe somewhere down this road, we’d finally find that place where we belong; That place where we’re complete, the one that occupies our dreams, that place we’re lucky to call our home.
The best part is that we have arrived at this place – the moment we accepted Salvation’s free gift and let God in us. That’s the moment when we have arrived, and there’s no way we can keep this inside…

Where I Belong >> MercyMe


[This YouTube video has been uploaded by user ‘Fisher ofMen’]

Finally Home >> Kerrie Roberts

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Building 429’s song is one of my all-time modern favorites. “All I know is I’m not home yet…” brings tears to my eyes nearly every time I hear it. I long to see my homeland and be with my Lord. I long to be welcomed to a place where I am wanted and loved for eternity. I long for righteousness to prevail and sin to be defeated. Here is where I feel out of place at every turn, because I am not home, yet.

Please do leave your thoughts on this...

