Music Videos

Haunted


“I just can’t sleep. It’s way too hard! It’s impossible! Every time I close my eyes, I’m reminded of that horrible past… I can’t get over it! I have changed now but I can’t get over what I did… How could I?  And now it’s creeping into my waking hours as well – everyday, some small occurrence takes me back, traumatizes me! No matter where I am – a small incident, the look on someone’s face, a familiar location – everything reminds me of that! It’s way too hard for me to get over…
Dear Lord, I have surrendered my everything to you, I have come a long way from my sin but I still can’t get over it. The sins of my past keep haunting me and prevent me from seeking you wholeheartedly. Everytime I come into your presence I feel this weight in my heart – a weight of guilt and regret. Lord, I’m sorry for everything I have done. I’m trying to lead a new life in You and trust in You as my strength but the past is holding onto me like strong chains. Lord, please help me…”

Have you ever been in a similar situation? Or maybe you just continue to live in regret and have not sought the Lord yet. Well, the Lord has better news for you. You remember when Jesus Christ died on the Cross? He dies for ALL of your sins – even before you were born. What’s more – He died for the sins of all mankind – the sins of the past, of the present and those that were yet to be committed. That was the whole purpose of His sacrifice. When you commit your life to Christ, ALL of your sins are forgiven and forgotten. They’re on the Ocean Floor. They do not have to haunt you any more.

When we do something wrong, however, the Holy Spirit convicts us so that we realize our mistake and ask the Father for forgiveness. God’s grace and mercy is unlimited and they are new every morning. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” [I John 1:9 (KJV)] In Romans 5:20, Paul says that where sin abounds, Grace abounds much more. But this does not mean that we should keep sinning so that God’s grace may keep abounding. It does not work that way. Whoever is baptized into Christ Jesus is also baptized into His death (Romans 6:4) so that just like Jesus rose from the dead, we also are raised to live in the newness of life. So when our old man (Romans 6:6-7) is dead, we are freed from sin.

What this all means is that, Jesus did not die only for “nice” people. He died for everyone even those who did not want Him and those who rejected Him. That was God’s amazing love speaking. No one who genuinely loves Christ would want to continue living in their sins – especially when those sins cost Jesus His life. How can any believer glory in what God hates? Before we came to Christ, sin was in control of us and we were its obedient slaves. However because of Jesus’ death and resurrection, we obtain that power to live for God. One day, the sin that still dwells in our unredeemed bodies will be eradicated completely. Until then, we are to draw on the power of the Spirit to put to death the sin that still wants to express itself, and obey God for His glory.

Do not worry about your past sins, God has forgiven them! And when the creator of the entire Universe has forgiven them, who are you to hold onto them? Forgive yourself. Move on. Hold onto the Spirit to give you strength to continue living a life in Christ free of sin. Casting Crowns and Audio Adrenaline say it much better. Our sins are cast away from us as far as the East is from the West. How far is the East from the West?? From one scarred hand to the other. Truly. Beautiful Metaphor.


[This YouTube video was uploaded by user ‘TheGospelTrain]

The mistakes I’ve made
That caused pain
I could have done without
All my selfish thought
All my pride
The things I hide
You have forgot about
They’re all behind you
They’ll never find you
They’re on the ocean floor
Your sins are forgotten
They’re on the bottom
Of the ocean floor
My misdeeds
All my greed
All the things that haunt me now
They’re not a pretty sight to see
But they’re wiped away
By a mighty, mighty wave
A mighty, mighty wave
Your sins are erased
And they are no more
They’re out on the ocean floor
Take them away
To return no more
Take them away
To the ocean floor.

And that’s why we can say “I’m forgiven! I don’t have to carry the weight of who I’ve been, ‘Cause I’m forgiven”

“Well, the past is playing with my head, and failure knocks me down again. I’m reminded of the wrong that I have said and done and that devil just won’t let me forget.
In this life I know what I’ve been but here in Your arms, I know what I am!

I’m forgiven, I’m forgiven! And I don’t have to carry the weight of who I’ve been ’cause I’m forgiven!

My mistakes are running through my mind and I relive my days in the middle of the night when I struggle with my pain, wrestle with my pride, sometimes I feel alone and I cry.

When I don’t fit in and I don’t feel like I belong anywhere…  When I don’t measure up too much in this life, Oh, I’m a treasure in the arms of Christ!”

Please do leave your thoughts on this...

